Archive for April, 2008

Loss Mitigation Efforts & FHA Financing

Tuesday, April 29th, 2008

The FHASecure initiative is aimed squarely at solving the subprime adjustable rate mortgage problem that continues to plague millions of homeowners in today’s housing market.  The next phase of the adjustable rate mortgage mess will be felt by the Alt-A mortgagors.  The problems are essentially the same.  Housing values have come down and borrowers no longer have the equity to refinance.  FHA once again, is the solution.

FHA refinancing solutions for Florida and throughout the USA.

FHA Government Grant & Gift Funds

Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008

How About A Gift for FHA?HUD Handbook 4155.1 (Revised)
 
SECTION 3: BORROWER’S CASH INVESTMENT IN THE PROPERTY
 C.        Gift Funds. An outright gift of the cash investment is acceptable if the donor is the borrower’s relative, the borrower’s employer or labor union, a charitable organization, a governmental agency or public entity that has a program to provide homeownership assistance to low- and moderate-income families or first-time homebuyers, or a close friend with a clearly defined and documented interest in the borrower.  The gift donor may not be a person or entity with an interest in the sale of the property, such as the seller, real estate agent or broker, builder, or any entity associated with them.  Gifts from these sources are considered inducements to purchase and must be subtracted from the sales price.  No repayment of the gift may be expected or implied.  (As a rule, we are not concerned with how the donor obtains the gift funds provided they are not derived in any manner from a party to the sales transaction.  Donors may borrow gift funds from any other acceptable source provided the mortgage borrowers are not obligors to any note to secure money borrowed to give the gift.)  This rule also applies to properties of which the seller is a government agency selling foreclosed properties, such as the Veterans Administration or Rural Housing Services.  Only family members may provide equity credit as a gift on a property being sold to other family members.  These restrictions on gifts and equity credit may be waived by the jurisdictional HOC provided that the seller is contributing to or operating an acceptable affordable housing program.

Florida Government Grant

FHA Partial Claim

Sunday, April 20th, 2008

Under the Partial Claim option, the mortgagee will advance funds on behalf of a mortgagor in an amount necessary to reinstate a delinquent loan. Ref: Mortgagee Letter 2003-19.

FACTS

  • A Subordinate Mortgage and Note, in the amount of the advance, is prepared in the nameof the Secretary of HUD.
  • For mortgaged properties in the State of Texas, a Subordinate Mortgage and Promissory Note, in the amount of the advance, is prepared in the name of the Secretary of HUD.
  • Total delinquency may not exceed 12 monthly payments principal, interest, taxes and insurance.
  • Mortgagee must verify mortgagor was not able to repay delinquency through Special Forbearance or Loan Modification option.
  • Partial Claim cannot be used to bring the loan current for sale or assumption.
  • Partial Claim may be used as a stand-alone option.
  • Partial Claim cannot be used in conjunction with a Loan Modification.
  • The mortgagee cannot include late fees, legal fees, or other administrative expenses in the Partial Claim.
  • Partial Claim amount must be included when calculating total indebtedness for the purpose of a Preforeclosure Sale.
  • No administrative fees for completing the Partial Claim documents can be passed on to the mortgagor.

ELIGIBILITY

  • Loan must be 92 days delinquent (4 full payments due and unpaid).
  • Mortgagor must have overcome the cause of default.
  • Owner-occupant committed to continuing occupancy as primary residence.

PROCEDURES

  • Mortgagee will conduct a financial analysis of the mortgagor’s household income and living expenses.
  • Calculate surplus income percentage for a minimum of 3 months.
  • If mortgagor’s income percentage is 0% or less the Partial Claim is disallowed.
  • Partial Claim must fully reinstate the loan.
  • Mortgagee cannot include late fees, legal fees, or other administrative expenses in the Partial Claim. However, the mortgagee can collect legal costs and fees resulting for a canceled foreclosure action directly from the mortgagor to teh extent not reimbursed by HUD. Reference: Mortgage Letter 2005-30
  • Partial Claim is due and payable when the first mortgage is paid off or when the mortgagor no longer owns the property.

Is FHA Secure the Real Deal?

Thursday, April 17th, 2008

FHASecure!Primarily the problem with the FHASecure program is twofold: (1) The program served a very narrow segment of the market in that the borrower must be delinquent as a result of the interest rate reset.  (2) The second problem had to do with the LTV issues with second mortgages subordinating.  Or shall I say unwilling and uncooperative second mortgages refusing to subordinate.
 
The first problem may have been cured with a recent change in the FHASecure program.  Specifically, the program allows the following:
 
>>Borrowers with adjustable rate mortgages who were late on two consecutive monthly mortgage payments or at two different times over the previous twelve months. FHA will require a 97 percent loan-to-value (LTV) ratio for these borrowers to refinance, the same LTV as FHA’s current standard.
 
>>Borrowers with adjustable rate mortgages who were late on three consecutive monthly mortgage payments or at three different times over the past 12 months. FHA will require a 90 percent LTV ratio for these borrowers to refinance.
 
Now, regarding the second mortgage subordination issue, I have this to say.  Better yet, let’s take a quote from Chairman Ben S. Bernanke on Marh 4, 2008 at the Independent Community Bankers of America Annual Convention in Orlando, Florida
 
“In my view, we could also reduce preventable foreclosures if investors acting in their own self interests were to permit servicers to write down the mortgage liabilities of borrowers by accepting a short payoff in appropriate circumstances.  For example, servicers could accept a principal writedown by an amount at least sufficient to allow the borrower to refinance into a new loan from another source.  A writedown that is sufficient to make borrowers eligible for a new loan would remove the downside risk to investors of additional writedowns or a re-default.”
 
I smell principal writedowns to accommodate FHASecure refinances.  Can you?  Let’s hope it’s not another one of Aesop’s Fables.

FHASecure Lenders in Florida and throughout the entire U.S.A.

FHA Subordination Agreements

Tuesday, April 15th, 2008

Many borrowers purchased properties with an 80/20 mortgage loan.  The property has since gone down in value and the combined loan to value (CLTV) is now above 100%.  Let’s use the following numbers as an example.

A family purchased a property for $200k with a $160,000 first mortgage and a $40,000 second mortgage.  Two years later, the home is only worth $170,000.  The CLTV = 200/170 = 117.6%.  In this scenario, it would appear to be difficult for this family to refinance their mortgage loan.  Not true!  The second mortgage can subordinate through a subordination agreement and this family can refinance the first mortgage with a new FHA loan.

FHA has no CLTV restrictions for refinancing.  Now, certain FHA lenders have limitations, but FHA does not.  Simply select your FHA mortgage lender carefully and the CLTV restriction will not be a problem.

Find FHA mortgage lenders with no CLTV restrictions in your State.

Loan Officer Marketing in 2008

Monday, April 14th, 2008

The Seller Helps Buyer website provides a means for loan officers to market to FSBO and Realtors.  There is a synergy that develops between the three and surrounds loan officer marketing.  I’ll say loan officer marketing starts the process off and teamwork gets the job done.  So, if you’re a loan officer looking for ways to market, or your just curious about loan officer marketing, then check out the Seller Helps Buyer website.

Learn Loan Officer Marketing for purchase business in 2008.  Develop realtor relationships, FSBO relationships, and help buyers and sellers in the real estate marketplace.  This is all done through loan officer marketing of course.

Real estate loan officer marketing and learn more about short sale real estate in Florida.  This was more of a zany SEO post than anything else.

Flipping FHA Rules

Monday, April 7th, 2008

June 8, 2006

MORTGAGEE LETTER 2006 -14
TO:  ALL APPROVED MORTGAGEES

SUBJECT: Property Flipping Prohibition Amendment

 On June 7, 2006, HUD published a final rule in the Federal Register amending regulations at 24 CFR 203.37a prohibiting property flipping in HUD’s single-family mortgage insurance programs by providing additional exceptions to the time restrictions on sales. The rule and this mortgagee letter become effective for mortgages endorsed for insurance on or after July 7, 2006.  This Mortgagee Letter also rescinds, in their entirety, Mortgagee Letters 2003-07 and 2005-05.

 The additional categories of properties exempted from the time restrictions include sales of properties by:

· State and Federally chartered financial Institutions and government-sponsored enterprises (GSEs) (e.g., Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac)
· Local and State government agencies 
· Nonprofits approved to purchase HUD REO properties at a discount
hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/np/np_hoc.cfm
· Sales of properties within Presidentially-Declared Disaster Areas (upon FHA’s announcement of eligibility in a mortgagee letter specific to said disaster)

Prohibition on Property Flipping Described

 Property flipping is a practice whereby a property is resold a short period of time after it is purchased by the seller for a considerable profit with an artificially inflated value, often abetted by a lender’s collusion with the appraiser.  FHA’s policy prohibiting property flipping eliminates the most egregious examples of predatory flips of properties within the FHA mortgage insurance programs.

Overview of FHA’s Property Flipping Policy

 FHA requires that: a) only owners of record may sell properties that will be financed using FHA-insured mortgages; b) any resale of a property may not occur 90 or fewer days from the last sale to be eligible for FHA financing; and c) that for resales that occur between 91 and 180 days where the new sales price exceeds the previous sales price by 100 percent or more, FHA will require additional documentation validating the property’s value.  FHA also has flexibility to examine and require additional evidence of appraised value when properties are re-sold within 12 months.
 
           
Sale by Owner of Record

 To be eligible for a mortgage insured by FHA, the property must be purchased from the owner of record and the transaction may not involve any sale or assignment of the sales contract. This requirement applies to all FHA purchase money mortgages regardless of the time between resales.

 The mortgage lender must obtain documentation verifying that the seller is the owner of record and submit this to HUD as part of the insurance endorsement binder; it is to be placed behind the appraisal on the left side of the case binder.  This documentation may include, but is not limited to, a property sales history report, a copy of the recorded deed from the seller, or other documentation such as a copy of a property tax bill, title commitment or binder, demonstrating the seller’s ownership of the property and the date it was acquired.  Mortgagees participating in the Lender Insurance program (see ML 2005-36) are to retain this documentation and provide it to FHA upon request. 

Resales Occurring 90 Days or Less Following Acquisition

 If the owner sells a property within 90 days after the date of acquisition, that property is not eligible security for a mortgage insured by FHA unless it falls within one of the exceptions to the time restrictions on resales set forth in §203.37a(c) of the regulations.  FHA defines the seller’s date of acquisition as the date of settlement on the seller’s purchase of that property.  The resale date is the date of execution of the sales contract by the buyer that will result in a mortgage to be insured by FHA.

 As an example, a property acquired by the seller is not eligible for a mortgage to be insured for the buyer unless the seller has owned that property for at least 90 days.  The seller must also be the owner of record.

Resales Occurring Between 91 and 180 Days Following Acquisition

 If the resale date is between 91 and 180 days following acquisition by the seller, the lender is required to obtain a second appraisal made by another appraiser if the resale price is 100 percent or more over the price paid by the seller when the property was acquired.

 As an example, if a property is resold for $80,000 within six months of the seller’s acquisition of that property for $40,000, the mortgage lender must obtain a second independent appraisal supporting the $80,000 sales price.  The mortgage lender may also provide documentation showing the costs and extent of rehabilitation that went into the property resulting in the increased value but must still obtain the second appraisal.  The cost of the second appraisal may not be charged to the homebuyer.

 FHA also reserves the right to revise the resale percentage level at which this second appraisal is required by publishing a notice in the Federal Register.

            

Resales Occurring Between 91 Days and 12 Months Following Acquisition

 If the resale date is more than 90 days after the date of acquisition by the seller but before the end of the twelfth month following the date of acquisition, FHA reserves the right to require additional documentation from the lender to support the resale value if the resale price is 5 percent or greater than the lowest sales price of the property during the preceding 12 months.  At FHA’s discretion, such documentation may include, but is not limited to, an appraisal from another appraiser.

 FHA will announce its determination to require the additional appraisal and other value documentation, such as an automated valuation method (AVM), through a Federal Register issuance.  This requirement may be established either nationwide or on a regional basis, at FHA’s discretion.

Exceptions to 90-day Restriction

 The following sales are exempt from the time restrictions provided by §203.37a:

· Sales by HUD of its Real Estate Owned
· Sales by other United States Government agencies of single family properties pursuant to programs operated by these agencies.
· Sales of properties by nonprofits approved to purchase HUD-owned single-family properties at a discount with resale restrictions.
· Sales of properties that are acquired by the sellers by inheritance.
· Sales of properties purchased by employers or relocation agencies in connection with relocations of employees.
· Sales of properties by state and federally charted financial institutions and Government Sponsored Enterprises.
· Sales of properties by local and state government agencies.
· Upon FHA’s announcement of eligibility in a notice (i.e., ML), sales of properties located in areas designated by the President as federal disaster areas, will be exempt from the restrictions of the property-flipping rule.  The notice will specify how long the exception will be in effect and the specific disaster area affected.

Inapplicability of §203.37a to New Construction

  The restrictions in 203.37a are not applicable to a builder selling a newly built home or building a home for a homebuyer wishing to use FHA-insured financing.

Date of Property Acquisition Determined by the Appraiser

Mortgage lenders may rely on information provided by the appraiser in compliance with the updated Standard Rule 1-5 of the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).  This rule requires appraisers to analyze any prior sales of the subject property that occurred within
specific time periods, now set for the previous three years for one-to-four family residential properties.

As a result, the information contained on the Uniform Residential Appraisal Report or other applicable appraisal report form describing the Date, Price and Data for prior Sales is to include all transactions for the subject property within three years of the date of the appraisal and the comparable sales within 12 months of the date of the comparable sale.  Appraisers are responsible for considering and analyzing any prior sales of the property being appraised within three years of the date of the appraisal and the comparables that are utilized within 12 months of the date of the comparable sale.

Therefore, provided that the URAR completed by the appraiser shows the most recent sale of the property to have occurred at least one year previously, no additional documentation is required from the mortgage lender.  The mortgage lender remains accountable for verifying that the seller is the owner of record and may rely on information developed by the appraiser for this purpose if provided.  However, if the lender obtains conflicting information before loan settlement, it must resolve the discrepancy and document the file accordingly.

If you have any questions regarding this Mortgagee Letter, please call 1-800-CALL-FHA.
-      Sincerely,
      Brian D. Montgomery
      Assistant Secretary for Housing-
          Federal Housing Commissioner

Is FHA Tightening Loan Underwriting?

Saturday, April 5th, 2008

Some mortgage and real estate industry professionals have been complaining that FHA has tightened the credit underwriting guidelines recently.  This is not a true statement, however, there is ample reason for many to feel this way.  To examine what is really going on with FHA at this moment, we’ll have to take a step back and look at the entire mortgage market as a whole.

The recent near catastrophe and near miss of financial mayhem with Bear Stearns, a Wall Street firm that survived the Great Depression, has shown us just how vulnerable the mortgage market is these days.  Fannie Mae (FNMA) and Freddie Mac (FHLMC) have recently tightened their guidelines.  In addition to the 5% Loan-To-Value reduction buyers and borrowers experience with declining market indicators, there are also pricing adjustments in play for FNMA & FHLMC.  A borrower with a credit score below 730 and an LTV above 60% will have a pricing adjustment of between .5% and 3%.  This translates into higher borrower closing costs. 

The result has been a flood of conventional mortgage loans that have been converted to FHA mortgage loans.  The recent increase in FHA lending limits has also spurred this conventional to FHA transition. 

Now, HUD direct endorsement underwriters are overwhelmed with FHA loan files and as a reaction to this over supply of FHA loans, lenders have raised the credit score and qualifying requirement for borrowers seeking FHA financing.  Again, this is not a change with FHA; this is merely a change with many lenders.

So, now that we have that out of the way, let me assure you that the lenders participating in the Seller Helps Buyer program are not subject to this FHA artificially high credit score problem.  Simply choose your lender through the Seller Helps Buyer website and relax and enjoy your new FHA mortgage loan.

Search and purchase a pre-foreclosure with an FHA Mortgage Loan

FHA Compensating Factors

Thursday, April 3rd, 2008

Here are some compensating factors for FHA mortgage loans.

2-13 COMPENSATING FACTORS. Compensating factors that may be used to justify approval of mortgage loans with ratios exceeding our benchmark guidelines are those listed below. Underwriters must record on the “remarks” section of the HUD 92900-WS/HUD 92900-PUR the compensating factor(s) used to support loan approval. Any compensating factor used to justify mortgage approval must be supported by documentation.

A. The borrower has successfully demonstrated the ability to pay housing expenses equal to or greater than the proposed monthly housing expense for the new mortgage over the past 12-24 months.

B. The borrower makes a large downpayment (ten percent or more) toward the purchase of the property.

C. The borrower has demonstrated an ability to accumulate savings and a conservative attitude toward the use of credit.

D. Previous credit history shows that the borrower has the ability to devote a greater portion of income to housing expenses.

E. The borrower receives documented compensation or income not reflected in effective income, but directly affecting the ability to pay the mortgage, including food stamps and similar public benefits.

F. There is only a minimal increase in the borrower’s housing expense.

G. The borrower has substantial documented cash reserves (at least three months’ worth) after closing. In determining if an asset can be included as cash reserves or cash to close, the lender must judge whether or not the asset is liquid or readily convertible to cash and can be done so absent retirement or job termination. Also see paragraph 2-10K.

Funds borrowed against these accounts may be used for loan closing, but are not to be considered as cash reserves. “Assets” such as equity in other properties and the proceeds from a cash-out refinance are not to be considered as cash reserves. Similarly, funds from gifts from any source are not to be included as cash reserves.

H. The borrower has substantial non-taxable income (if no adjustment was made previously in the ratio computations).

FHA Government Grants are generally not considered a compensating factor for FHA financing. This should not be confused with FHA assumable mortgage loans or the FHA lease/purchase program.